Emergency Classification Levels & Responsibilities

There are 4 levels of incident management and response to industrial accidents that the public should be aware of.

  1. Level 1
  2. Level 2
  3. Level 3
  4. Level 4

Level 1

An incident has occurred and can be controlled by facility personnel. The situation is under control.


When you hear the emergency sirens:

  1. Go indoors.
  2. Shut all windows and doors.
  3. Turn off the air conditioning.
  4. Turn on the radio to 530 AM or TV Cable Channel 16 for information.
  5. Stay off the telephone.
  6. You may also want to use any major television station in the Houston area for updates.

The situation is often fluid and up-to-date information can be obtained by using these stations as they often have live broadcasts of the event.

Know the Siren Signals

  • High - low - high - low - high - low - high - low - high - low: Go Indoors
  • Single frequency continuous tone: All Clear

Siren Tests

Siren tests are performed every Wednesday at 12 Noon.